Buckwheat for a Gluten Free Diet

Buckwheat is gluten-free. That means that it’s safe for those with celiac disease  as buckwheat is not related to wheat.

What is gluten you ask? Gluten according to the medical dictionary is defined as – ‘a gluey protein substance especially of wheat flour that causes dough to be sticky’.

Gluten is found in all grains, but while the prolamins in rice and corn gluten are safe for celiac patients, the prolamins in wheat , barley , and rye are not. In people with celiac disease, these protein molecules in wheat, barley and rye trigger an autoimmune response that results in damage to the small intestine, along with other related problems. (Source: http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/celiacdiseaseglossary/g/Gluten.htm)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.